academy illustration

Product Page - Classifications Tab

December 23, 2019 • 2 min reading

This section pertains to the products construction material as well as how the product is classified using various CSI (Construction Specifications Institute) classifications.  There are various classification groups that you can use and we encourage you to use as many as you can since different parts of the world / disciplines use different classifications.  

All options are available through a drop down menu and you can type a keyword in each field to narrow the drop down results.

  1. Primary Material - The main construction material for the product.

  2. Secondary Material - The next most used construction material for the product.

  3. Classifications - This area is made up of several different classification groups.  These fields are filterable and we strongly suggest that you fill out as many as you can to increase the likelihood of being included in the search results.  Below is a brief explanation of each classification.

    1. Omni class - Omni class, or OCCS, stands for Construction Classification System. Click on the icon next to the field to find a suitable category.
    2. MasterFormat 2014 - MasterFormat is a standard for organizing specifications and other written information for commercial and institutional building projects in the U.S. and Canada. Sometimes referred to as the "Dewey Decimal System" of building construction, MasterFormat is a product of the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) and Construction Specifications Canada (CSC). It provides a master list of Divisions, and Section numbers with associated titles within each Division, to organize information about a facility’s construction requirements and associated activities.
    3. UniFormat II - Uniformat is a standard for classifying building specifications, cost estimating, and cost analysis in the U.S. and Canada.
    4. Uniclass 2015 - Is the new Uniclass. Click on the icon next to the field to find a suitable category.
    5. Uniclass 1.4 - Uniclass is a UK-specific classification system. 1.4 will soon be replaced by version 3.0.
    6. Uniclass 2.0 - Uniclass 2.0 is now obsolete and does not need to be selected.
    7. NBS reference - The NBS reference is a derivative of the Uniclass 2.0 classification system, but has also become obsolete. You don't need to select anything here.
    8. IFC - Here, you can specify which IFC category should be used. As the list is quite long, it is easy to get – make sure you end up selecting the right category! If an IFC export is made, the IFC categories are carried onto the next BIM software. It is also required for creating IFC from BIMscript.
    9. UNSPSC category - UNSPSC is an acronym for The United Nations Standard Products and Services Code. More information about this category system can be found on the UNSPSC website. [link the phrase "UNSPSC website" to the relevant website]
    10. ETIM Classification - ETIM is an initiative to standardize the electronic exchange of product data for electrical and electronic products (electrical installation products, home appliances, and consumer electronics) in order to allow for the electronic trading of these products. The standard is designed to meet the requirements of the electrical industry and enables the uniform, technical description of electrical goods and their assignment to a class of products.

Note: IFC classifications are required if you have a BIMscript developed project and require IFC file types. 

Video here

Was this article helpful?

Suggested Articles

Suggested Articles